Latest THSLL News

US Lacrosse is playing a leading role in ongoing research and is committed to educating the national lacrosse community about the potential dangers of commotio cordis, as well as the life-saving value of having AEDs available during lacrosse games and practices.

In 2006, US Lacrosse entered a strategic alliance with Cardiac Science, a leading manufacturer of AEDs, to provide greater educational resources and special AED pricing for US Lacrosse members.

Now, US Lacrosse and Cardiac Science are offering an AED Grant Program which provides comprehensive management of AED/CPR training to awarded leagues and chapters. Through the grant, US Lacrosse will subsidize a significant portion of the cost of a one-year partnership with Cardiac Science.

Click Here to Download Grant Application

Application Timeline for Grant Program

April 18, 2011 - Grant applications available.
September 30, 2011 (EXTENDED) - Deadline for submitting completed applications.
October 2011 - Notification letters sent to all applicants.
December 31, 2012 - All AED training workshops must be completed by this date.

In 2010, US Lacrosse awarded 14 lacrosse organizations in 12 states an AED Grant:

Southern Marin Lacrosse Club, Mill Valley, CA
Norwich Youth Lacrosse Association, Norwich, CT
Roswell Youth Lacrosse Association, Roswell, GA
Lakers Youth Lacrosse, Lakeville, MA
Western Maryland US Lacrosse Chapter, Walkersville, MD
Cecil Lacrosse League, Port Deposit, MD
Homegrown Lacrosse Nonprofit, Minneapolis, MN
AUFAA Dragons Lacrosse, Allentown, NJ
Mahopac Sports Association, Mahopac, NY
Lower Dauphin, Hummelstown, PA
Cookeville Lacrosse Club, Cookeville, TN
Kingwood Ladies Lacrosse, Kingwood, TX
Southlake Carroll Lacrosse Association, Southlake, TX
Janesville Lacrosse Club, Janesville, WI

Congratulations to Coppell and Hillcrest on their 2011 THSLL Seasons and their hard fought victories this past weekend at the 2011 THSLL State Championships at Woodforest Bank Stadium in Shenandoah, Texas.

Congratulations to Clear Lake and Dallas Jesuit, and to ESD, Stony Point, St. Mark's, and TMI on a great 2011 THSLL Season and their outstanding efforts this past weekend as well.

What a great weekend of Texas high school lacrosse...

Special thanks to the Woodlands Lacrosse Association, the City of Shenandoah, and all the event sponsors, for a great venue and an outstanding job of hosting and supporting this important THSLL event. The effort and results from this past weekend set the bar high for future THSLL events.

Special thanks to Jeff Watts and his production crew ( and the broadcast crew (Doug Anderson, Alex Poole, Jeff Power) for the great job they did producing, directing, and announcing the Fox College Sports coverage of Sunday's championship games and awards activities.

Please note that we are already starting our planning for the 2012 THSLL Season, and the 2012 THSLL DII Division Championships on April 28-29, 2012, the 2012 THSLL Super Regional Tournaments in Dallas and Houston on April 28-29, 2012, and the 2012 THSLL State Championship Weekend in Austin, Texas on May 5-6, 2012. If you and your THSLL Member School Program are interested in hosting a 2012 THSLL event, please contact your District Coordinator right away. We would like to get these venues decided, contracts signed, and planning started as soon as possible.

Please don't forget our 2011 THSLL State Meeting is coming up in Austin, Texas on September 24, 2011. Look for details via email, and on, in the coming weeks. Your attendance at this meeting is important as it is your opportunity to influence the direction of the THSLL for the 2012 THSLL Season, and beyond.

Congratulations to all THSLL Member School Programs on a great 2011 THSLL Season. Thank you for your commitment to the student athletes of the THSLL.

The THSLL Board of Directors

May 08, 2011
All Americans
Buck McClure,  Attack,  Dallas Jesuit
Campbell Sode,  Attack,  Highland Park
Nate Hruby,  Midfield,  Coppell
Tyler Landis,  Midfield,  Coppell
Will Merritt,  Midfield,  Austin
Chase Rogers,  Midfield,  Woodlands
Hunter Hendrick,  Defense,  Kingwood
Brandon Mullins,  Defense,  Coppell
Academic All Americans
Brent Sterling Phelps,  Goalie,  Taylor (Morton Ranch High School)
Grant Fitts,  Goalie,  Episcopal School of Dallas
Jimmy Nawalaniec,  Midfield,  Dallas Jesuit
Jordan Andrew Schochet,  Midfield,  Plano West
Coach of the Year
This award honors those coaches who exemplify the ideals of the game within the THSLL. This  award is intended to recognize the individuals overall coaching performance and contribution, not just coaching wins although they may be considered.

Bill Elliott, Hillcrest
Assistant Coach of the Year
This award honors those coaches who exemplify the ideals of the game within the THSLL.
Craig Reeves, Strake Jesuit
Person of the Year
THSLL Person of the Year award honoree whose individual whose dedication, commitment, and support of lacrosse and its ideals extends beyond his/her specific Member Team.
Gretchen Waltz, Stony Point
Commissioner’s Award
These awards honors THSLL players who exemplify the ideals of sportsmanship, competition and character both on and off the field, and shall be selected by the THSLL Commssioner
William Wallace, St. Johns
The Patterson Award
Annual award named in honor of Bob Patterson, former President and Chief Referee of the Southwest Lacrosse Officials Association (SWLOA).  Each year SWLOA membership selects a men’s high school program for their sportsmanship, quality of play, respect for the game’s character, and the honor they bring to the sport.
Anderson High School
 News Article Attachment(s)
2011 Awards
2011 Division I State Champion
Coppell Lacrosse

Coppell defeated Dallas Jesuit 10 to 8

Overall Team MVP
Tyler Landis, Midfield, Coppell

Offensive MVP
Richie Sapp, Attack, Dallas Jesuit

Defensive MVP
Jonathan Ferree, Goalie, Coppell

2011 Division II Champion
Hillcrest Lacrosse

Hillcrest defeated Clear Lake 13 to 11

Overall Team MVP     
Trevor Atkins, Attack, Hillcrest

Offensive MVP
Troy Smith, Midfield, Clear Lake

Defensive MVP
Ward Weber, Goalie, Hillcrest