Latest Central District News
SWLOA Central Texas Chapter

President:Mike Jacksonref@speakingofficially.com
AssignerKen Singerksinger@epicor.com
Chief RefereeDon Carnestxcarnes@swbell.net
Training CoordinatorKen Singerksinger@epicor.com

Central Governers
Doug Dicksonddickson@sstx.org
Michael Marksmichael.marks+lax@gmail.com

Statewide Board of Governors
PresidentTom Fitzsimmonstfitzwp73@gmail.com
Secretary/TreasurerMark Paynempayne@multicorp.com
Chief RefereeDon Carnestxcarnes@swbell.net

January 23, 2014
As of January 1, 2014, all lacrosse balls used for play MUST meet NOCSAE standards and include the words "Meets NOCSAE Standard".

NOCSAE, the National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment, commissions research in sports medicine & science and establishes standards for athletic equipment.

All three governing bodies for lacrosse in the United States – US Lacrosse, the NCAA and the NFHS - have agreed to mandate that only balls marked as "Meets NOCSAE Standard" will be allowed for use in games.

Additionally, the process of visually identifying these NOCSAE balls will become much easier. Beginning in January 2014, the only balls deemed legal for play will be those that state "Meets NOCSAE Standard" in type size that will be simple for consumers and game officials to read.  

NCAA Lax Rules Editor: Only NOCSAE-approved balls are legal, the 'NCAA-approved' balls are not. There is a difference in construction manufacturing between the two.

Why is a standard really needed? The core issue involved in the approval of any equipment standard is safety. Adherence to a ball standard is a matter of quality control. The properties of all lacrosse balls (ie-weight, density, size, etc.) must be consistent to protect the integrity of other protective equipment, such as the facemask, helmet and eyewear, used in the game and to minimize risk to the participants.
Trainers-This is a critical health and safety issue and we want to insure the highest level of care to any injured players. This can be provided by Licensed Athletic Trainers, medical professionals (MD, RN, LVN), or EMTs. The serious nature of injuries – severe sprains, bone breaks, concussions, requires the expertise these individuals are trained for.

Austin Area Licensed Athletic Trainers

Medicine in Motion
13805 Research Ste 150, Austin, TX 78750
(512) 257-2500, Medinmotion.com


Strong Medicine
www.StrongMed.net
512-426-1178
http://www.strongmed.net/athletic-training.html
Heather Willard, LAT, CSCS,Director of Athletic Training
Heather@StrongMed.net